Southern Cross the Dog
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author
Published
HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English
ISBN
9780062225030

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Bill Cheng., & Bill Cheng|AUTHOR. (2013). Southern Cross the Dog . HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Bill Cheng and Bill Cheng|AUTHOR. 2013. Southern Cross the Dog. HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Bill Cheng and Bill Cheng|AUTHOR. Southern Cross the Dog HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Bill Cheng, and Bill Cheng|AUTHOR. Southern Cross the Dog HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbd582ebf-deef-8311-0535-84342a73b540-eng
Full titlesouthern cross the dog
Authorcheng bill
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2022-09-20 01:12:31AM
Last Indexed2022-10-01 04:47:30AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedJun 10, 2022
Last UsedOct 3, 2022

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2013
    [artist] => Bill Cheng
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062225030_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 11919854
    [isbn] => 9780062225030
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Southern Cross the Dog
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 336
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Bill Cheng
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => African American & Black
            [1] => Fiction
            [2] => Historical
        )

    [price] => 2.69
    [id] => 11919854
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng's Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the future and the claims of the past. Having lost virtually everything in the fearsome storm-home, family, first love-Robert Chatham embarks on an odyssey that takes him through the deep South, from the desperation of a refugee camp to the fiery and raucous brothel Hotel Beau-Miel and into the Mississippi hinterland, where he joins a crew hired to clear the swamp and build a dam. Along his journey he encounters piano-playing hustlers, ne'er-do-well Klansmen, well-intentioned whores, and a family of fur trappers, the L'Etangs, whose very existence is threatened by the swamp-clearing around them. The L'Etang brothers are fierce and wild but there is something soft about their cousin Frankie, possibly the only woman capable of penetrating Robert's darkest places and overturning his conviction that he's marked by the devil. Teeming with language that renders both the savage beauty and complex humanity of our shared past, Southern Cross the Dog is a tour de force that heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11919854
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => HarperCollins Publishers
)
1