The Poppy War
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperCollins, 2018.
Appears on list
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English
ISBN
9780062662590

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang., & R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. (2018). The Poppy War . HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang and R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. 2018. The Poppy War. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang and R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. The Poppy War HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

R. F. Kuang, and R. F. Kuang|AUTHOR. The Poppy War HarperCollins, 2018.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc1d88778-428f-d8b1-2988-e23e1235928e-eng
Full titlepoppy war
Authorkuang r f
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2022-09-27 19:10:55PM
Last Indexed2022-09-27 19:25:15PM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedJun 8, 2022
Last UsedSep 27, 2022

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2018
    [artist] => R. F. Kuang
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062662590_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13325628
    [isbn] => 9780062662590
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => The Poppy War
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 544
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => R. F. Kuang
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Cultural Heritage
            [1] => Epic
            [2] => Fantasy
            [3] => Fiction
            [4] => Historical
        )

    [price] => 3.24
    [id] => 13325628
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China's twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu's Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin's Inheritance Trilogy.
	When Rin aced the Keju-the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies-it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn't believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin's guardians, who believed they'd finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard-the most elite military school in Nikan-was even more surprising.
	But surprises aren't always good.
	Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power-an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive-and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.
	For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .
	Rin's shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13325628
    [pa] => 
    [series] => Poppy War
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => HarperCollins
)
1