The bear and the nightingale : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Del Rey, 2017.
Physical Desc
322 pages ; 24 cm
Appears on list
Status
Round Rock Public Library - Adult (2nd floor)  1 available
SF ARDEN, K

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Round Rock Public Library - Adult (2nd floor)SF ARDEN, KOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
1101885939, 9781101885932 (hardback)
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5, 14 Points

Notes

Description
"A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales. Advance praise for The Bear and the Nightingale "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic."--Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted"--,Provided by publisher.
Action
2017-06-21

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Arden, K. (2017). The bear and the nightingale: a novel . Del Rey.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Arden, Katherine. 2017. The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel. New York: Del Rey.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Arden, Katherine. The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel New York: Del Rey, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Arden, Katherine. The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel Del Rey, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.