The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Hatmaker, Jen writer of foreword.
Published
New York : Convergent Books, [2017].
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
xvii, 221 pages ; 21 cm
Status
Round Rock Public Library - Adult (2nd floor)  1 available
NF 923.6 WRIGHT, J 2018

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Round Rock Public Library - Adult (2nd floor)NF 923.6 WRIGHT, J 2018On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
0451496531, 9780451496539

Notes

Description
As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair. Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries suck and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a "bad" missionary-awkward, doubtful, and vocal-is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need. The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans. Shares the author's experiences as an enthusiastic convert to Christianity whose experiences as a missionary left her feeling like a cynical failure, until she started a blog that opened her eyes to like-minded Christians and the value of their perspective.
Action
cc,2018-05-18,JV

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Wright, J., & Hatmaker, J. (2017). The very worst missionary: a memoir or whatever (First edition.). Convergent Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wright, Jamie and Jen Hatmaker. 2017. The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever. New York: Convergent Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wright, Jamie and Jen Hatmaker. The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever New York: Convergent Books, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Wright, Jamie,, and Jen Hatmaker. The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever First edition., Convergent Books, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.