The very worst missionary : a memoir or whatever
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Hatmaker, Jen writer of foreword.
Published
New York : Convergent Books, [2017].
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
xvii, 221 pages ; 21 cm
Status
Adult Nonfiction (3rd floor)
NF 923.6 WRIGHT, J 2018
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

The circulation system is currently offline. Holdings information is based on information from before the system went offline.
LocationCall NumberStatus
Adult Nonfiction (3rd floor)NF 923.6 WRIGHT, J 2018On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English

Notes

Description
As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair. Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries suck and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a "bad" missionary-awkward, doubtful, and vocal-is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need. The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans. Shares the author's experiences as an enthusiastic convert to Christianity whose experiences as a missionary left her feeling like a cynical failure, until she started a blog that opened her eyes to like-minded Christians and the value of their perspective.
Action
cc,2018-05-18,JV

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Wright, J., & Hatmaker, J. (2017). The very worst missionary: a memoir or whatever (First edition.). Convergent Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wright, Jamie and Jen Hatmaker. 2017. The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever. New York: Convergent Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wright, Jamie and Jen Hatmaker. The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever New York: Convergent Books, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Wright, Jamie,, and Jen Hatmaker. The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever First edition., Convergent Books, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.