Astrid sees all : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Atria Books, 2021.
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Physical Desc
x, 258 pages ; 22 cm
Status
Round Rock Public Library - Adult (2nd floor)  1 available
F STANDIF, N

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Round Rock Public Library - Adult (2nd floor)F STANDIF, NOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
1982153652, 9781982153656

Notes

Description
"New York's last bohemia-the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s-is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith. New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself-and Carmen, if she can find her-but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from-within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets. A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity"--,Provided by publisher.
Action
cc,2021-04-0,PB

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Standiford, N. (2021). Astrid sees all: a novel (First Atria Books hardcover edition.). Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Standiford, Natalie. 2021. Astrid Sees All: A Novel. New York: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Standiford, Natalie. Astrid Sees All: A Novel New York: Atria Books, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Standiford, Natalie. Astrid Sees All: A Novel First Atria Books hardcover edition., Atria Books, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.